Climate Committee

Values Statement

The Department of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology at the University of Massachusetts is made up of students, faculty, postdocs and staff from a wide range of backgrounds and experiences who work in many disciplines throughout our community. We are united by our membership in this department and strive to ensure that all our members feel safe, respected, and valued. We welcome all who are committed to this mission, independent of their race, ethnicity, gender, age, disability, sexual orientation, gender identity, economic status and religion. This spirit of acceptance extends to our workplaces, classrooms, and laboratories and we encourage open and honest communication to foster mentorship and to further improve this department and the UMass community as a whole.

The steps we are currently taking to promote this mission are:

  • Convene a Department of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology Workplace Climate Committee, composed of undergraduate and graduate students, faculty, and staff, which meets several times a semester
  • Create and promote events which foster this spirit of inclusion among department members
  • Distribute a department-specific survey on the topic of diversity and climate


Members of the BMB Climate Committee (2020-2021)

Undergraduate Students

Juliana Babu
Matt Dunn
Melissa Elmali
Saida Gamidova
Minjae Song
Elizabeth Troll
Mariel Wissman

Graduate Students

Jedaidah Chilufya
Noelle Dziedzic


Erin Flanagan (co-chair)
Danielle Tatro
Megan West


Laura Danai (co-chair)
Steve Eyles
Li-Jun Ma
ChangHui Pak

If you are interested in joining or have suggestions for the BMB Climate Committee, please feel free to reach out to any member!